In partnership with the Maine Memory Network Maine Memory Network

Dover-Foxcroft Historical Society

Dover-Foxcroft Historical Society Facts

Collections:
The society has an eclectic collection of artifacts, photos, memorabilia, and historic objects.

Under construction is a research library where genealogists and historians will be invited to delve into the Society's substantial collection of historic records and its extensive photo collection.

Facilities:
Besides the Observer Building that houses the museum and society's headquarters, the Dover-Foxcroft Historical Society operates the Blacksmith Shop Museum, built in 1863 by Nicholas A. Chandler.

The museum retains much of its original equipment including forge, ox-lifter, anvil and other tools. In addition, the museum has a collection of agricultural and rural tools and material.

Both buildings are on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Observer Building's unique prow-shaped roof was reportedly built by ships' carpenters imported especially from the coast of Maine to make the building fit its small, flat-iron shaped lot.

Activities: